The Proper Word When You Need It

If you are serious about any type of writing, you will come upon a time where a cli’che is just right for what you need. Or you may need the proper grammar, or punctuation.  I found a page with almost every conceivable reference you can think of. Go take a look.

I have to admit, that most of my writing has glaring improprieties in it. I had to learn to speak Hill Billy, when I got married. I actually had very good Englsh grades. People around here kept asking what I just said, so I had to learn to think one thing(the proper thing to say) and then mentally dumb it down before I said it out loud. The schools here literally don’t have dictionaries.
I had to buy one for my kids and teach them how to use it.

I digress. If you know proper English or not, these references are a good way to correct your writing.

Powered by ScribeFire.

2 thoughts on “The Proper Word When You Need It

  1. Karen says:

    I used to be a bit ‘snobbish’ about people writing with correct grammar. But I’ve started to come around to the recognition that language is an evolving thing. And the English that we use today is different from that of a hundred years ago, which in turn, is different than that of a hundred years earlier. So I’m trying to be more accepting that grammar is changing.

    But having said that, I still can’t accept the concept that we might all be writing in ‘text-speak’ in a few years.

  2. Hummie says:

    Hey, great find! I link I will share it on my blog too! So, is it a principle find or a principal find? >giggle>

Leave a comment