WHAT GENEALOGY MEANS TO ME

I thought would put up another one of my recent LO I did for my heritage scrapbook.

Here is the journaling that went on it:

have been thinking about what genealogy means to me this evening. I suppose it is a little like being a tree. I know that I have roots just below the surface of the ground. I just had to bend over and start digging to discover what anchored me to the earth, where I came from and how deep those roots ran.

There are mixed opinions in the scientific vommunity as to whether nature or nurture dictates what we become. But when you study genealogy, you begin to see both influences. You know these people passed on their genetics to you, but they also pass their life experiences on to you. Events that occured hundreds of years before you were conceived helped to shape who you are. It reaffirms my faith that God was considering my small life long ago, too.

If I were a gambler, I would say that the odds of my maternal family line and my paternal family line coming together from the same part of Virginia over 250 years ago and then reconnecting again in my parents, being a coincidence are 1 in a million.

After we were married for 18 years, I discovered that my husband and I were 5th cousins. Despite being raised 300 miles apart, somehow our family lines had managed to reconnect yet again.

Maybe some people wouldn’t find that profound, but to feel like I am part of a greater plan both humbles and comforts me.

what-genealogy-means1.jpg

4 thoughts on “WHAT GENEALOGY MEANS TO ME

  1. Betty says:

    Wow, I’m just starting a heritage scrapbook for my sister’s b-day. I am not as creative as you. Hope I come up with at least one page as neat as your trees and journaling page are.

  2. Kristina says:

    I clicked on your “Scrapbooking blog entries” category, and read this today…in case you were wondering why you got a comment almost a year after you wrote this *wink*.

    I just wanted to share that my dad and step-mom found out through genealogy that they are 5th cousins as well (back to General Sevier from the Civil War), and they felt pretty blessed and in awe to find this out, too. They very much feel destined to be together, as a part of a greater plan, and knowing that we’re all distantly related really helped to seal that for them. Her side migrated north to Indiana, and his family stayed in Alabama, except for my dad’s dad…he moved to Seattle once he left the Navy, and it was the Air Force that brought my dad and step-mom together.

    Anyways, I just wanted you to know that I think it’s very cool that this happened to you and your husband as well, and that it makes me wonder how often this happens to people here in the US…that people are related distantly and just don’t know it because of how transitory we are as a society. Anyways, I really appreciated what you shared here…it brought a big smile to my face, to remember this about my dad and my step-mom, and that I hope that you’re feeling very blessed today, by remembering this about you and your husband.

    PS. I was referred to your site by a friend of mine who is teaching a Journal Cards class through Artella, at http://www.artellaland.com. Her name is Zura Ledbetter, and she recommended your blog because of the wealth of journaling prompts and well-thought out entries you’ve penned. So, thank you, just for saying what you have to say. 🙂

  3. Thank you very much for your comments. It is amazing to me that my blog can be helpful to other people and that your friend can use it to help teach a class. It inspires me to keep adding more stuff.

  4. ray nwamb says:

    What a great site you have here. Please do checkout my site when you have time http://genealogydatabases.blogspot.com

Leave a comment