Journaling Prompts Again

Hospital stays.

I have been spending a lot of time in hospitals lately. My Dad recently passed away from esophagheal cancer. Then my Mom developed an ulcerated place on her foot. Three days after she came home, she fell and broke her shoulder. While she has been staying at my house, she developed infection in her kidneys and had to be rehospitalized. The day after she came home, my husband became ill and had to go to the ER.

Have you ever had something funny happen to you at the hospital? I have had several things happen. When I was a teenager, my Grandpa was in the cardiac ICU at Ohio State University Hospital. We lived in a suburb of Cincinnati and had to travel there on weekends to visit him. My Dad hated it when someone double parked. We had a small Mazda hatchback at the time. After driving around for a half an hour looking for a parking place, we passed by a spot where someone had double parked their car. Dad told me to get out and he was going to park. He squeezed the car into the tiny space left next to the other car. Then he climbed over the back seat and out the hatch, in order to get out. I never did figure out how those people got back into their car.

A while back Mom had a few trips to the ER due to her diabetes. On the first trip, they gave her too much insulin and her blood sugar level dropped so fast it almost killed her. On the second trip she was afraid they would repeat it and instead of saying that was the problem, she was being really hateful and contrary with the nurses. So, I told her that she needed to be careful what she said to them because they were the ones taking care of her and they might give her a shot with an air bubble in it if she wasn’t careful. I thought it was funny, but I’m not so sure Mom did.

About 3 years ago, I had a desk chair that broke and flipped me over backwards. I hurt my back pretty bad and had to go to the ER. While I was sitting in the hallway outside of radiology waiting on my turn to be x-rayed, there was another patient wheeled up to wait too. There are these grab bars all along the hallway in most hospitals. He tried to move his wheel chair over by grabbing one and pulling. It almost flipped him out in the floor instead. I tried to hide my smile, but he caught me anyway. So, to make him feel better, I told him don’t feel bad, I’m here because I flipped over backwards in my desk chair. He didn’t feel so bad then.

If you maintain a good sense of humor, even hospitals can cause funny situations.

Leave a Reply

